Maine Lifestyle Photographer | Children

We got an snow day earlier this week! The girls were so excited. Anytime there is a cancellation my husband and I each get about 50 notifications come through at the same exact time on our cell phones. Phone calls, e-mails, and text messages. But my girls like to watch the news and read the cancellations so I keep the news to myself. It is really neat to get to watch them sitting anxiously on the couch watching the same show I did at their age, humming along to that catchy Storm Center tune. (Come on, you guys know what I’m talking about. I bet you’re humming along just thinking about it.)

We live in a small town surrounded by family. Which, on snow days, I’m especially thankful for. I didn’t grow up close to my cousins. We just weren’t one of those families. On one side of my family, we got together once a year on Christmas Eve and on the other side, it wasn’t so much that we didn’t see each other often there were just less cousins and I was significantly older than my cousins. I did have one cousin on each side that I was really close with (shout out to you guys, Rachel & Fernando) and I’m so thankful for the all the time I got to spend with them. In my husband’s family however, the cousins were all really close. Seeing them all together on holidays and hearing their childhood stories always made me feel like I had missed out on some really great stuff. Now that we live so close to family (I mean REALLY close; my girls have 5 cousins who live within 3 houses of us) I am so excited that they get to have the same kind of “cousin experience” if you will, that my husband had growing up.

The two older cousins (and by older I mean 6 & 2. Lots of babies in the family.) came over on the snow day and all kids had a great time. We played in the snow, made hot cocoa, watched a little bit of a movie, colored, and played dress up. I love that I get to watch their bonds strengthen and it’s an added bonus that they keep each other busy and happy.

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

maine childhood photographer

 

Leave a Reply

